The Royal Faculty of Procurators was incorporated prior to 1668 as a body which supported and regulated the procurators of the Commissary Court of Glasgow. Find out more about the early history of the legal system in Glasgow and the RFPG's role in it.
The earliest surviving record of the existence of the Faculty of Procurators is the Minute Book from 1668. Look inside the Minute Book and find out what it can tell us about the early business of the Faculty and the courts in Glasgow.
Royal Faculty Building
In 1857, the Royal Faculty building officially opened, and it has housed the RFPG's collection of legal texts ever since. The Italianate style building was designed by the Glasgow architect Charles Wilson, who took inspiration from the Venecian Biblioteca Marciana. Take a tour of the library, and find out more about this hidden gem of Glasgow architecture.
Over the course of the nineteenth century, the library continued to grow and expand it membership. Learn about some of the interesting characters who made up the Faculty membership.
In the early twentieth century, William Henry Hill left to the library an extensive collection of materials including historical charters, royal letters, rare books, maps of Glasgow and satirical magazines. Take a closer look at some of the star pieces in the library's collection.
20th Century to Present Day
As the legal profession moved into the twentieth century, it began to change, and the Faculty changed with it. The Faculty continues to support members today, providing access to library resources and a CPD education programme. Learn more about the Faculty in the 20th century and the services provided by the Royal Faculty.